On Resourcefulness

img_2888.jpg

 

I am keeping this short tonight because I am EXHAUSTED.  Who knew how consuming planning a 3-year-old’s birthday party could be?

This afternoon BRK and I were making frosting for her cupcakes.  She wanted all the colors of the rainbow.

“Do you remember what colors you mix to make orange and purple?” I asked.

“Which colors?” she replied.

“I don’t know, do you know?” I volleyed.

“Um, I’m going to check the book!” and she ran off.

I was left scratching my head, wondering which book she meant.

Five minutes later she raced back into the kitchen, with a Curious George book in hand.  One in which Curious George mixes colors of paints.

“Mommy, you mix red and yellow” (except she says lellow, so sweet) “to make orange!”

And sure enough, there was a picture of Curious George mixing red and yellow paint to make orange.

I was struck by her resourcefulness.  Perhaps because I’ve seen too many high school students for comfort lacking in the life skill called If You Don’t Know Something Look It Up.

I think I will use this story in my classes, as a demonstration of resourcefulness.

 

Leave a Reply

